Quick Links

Get Access to Various
Important Features

Background Information

The Zanzibar University, the first University on the Isles, is a private institution sponsored by Darul Iman Charitable Association (DICA). The main campus is situated at Tunguu area, in the Central District, some 19 kilometers from Zanzibar Town.
The University campus, with a total area of 69 hectares of land, is located among pleasant and quiet countryside surroundings overlooking vast expanses of deep blue waters of Indian Ocean.
It is an ideal place for serious academic work and research. Public transport from Zanzibar Town will bring you to the University campus gates. Private cars are also common..

Ownership And Accreditation

The Zanzibar University was founded and is owned and governed by Darul-Iman Charitable Association. It was established on the basis of the following: The Constitution of Darul-Iman registered under the Society's Act No. 6, 1995 given at Zanzibar on 2nd August, 1996.
A letter of Interim Authority issued by the then Higher Education Accreditation Council bearing Ref. No. HEAC/SU of 1st May, 1998. The Certificate of Provisional Registration No. 007 of 22nd December, 1999.
The Certificate of Full Registration No. 003 of 4th May, 2000; The provisions of the Universities Act, 2005; and The Zanzibar University Charter, 2010 issued on 24th March, 2010 by the President of the United Republic of Tanzania, H.E. Dr. Jakaya Mrisho Kikwete.

Establishment of Academic Faculties

  1. The proliferation of business enterprises, Hotels, Beach resorts, and the gradual expansion of the tourism industry in the country, had convinced the development partners to begin first with a Faculty of Business Administration in 1998, with the view to satisfy the immediate needs of the business community. Five more faculties have been established as per the market demand for other professions.
  2. In 1999, the Faculty of Law and Shariah was established.
  3. In 2002 the Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences was also established. Within seven or so years that followed however more but quite modern structures with larger classrooms were erected to accommodate bigger student’s intakes.
  4. During 2012/2013 the Faculty of Engineering was established.
  5. During 2013/2014 the Faculty of Health and Allied Sciences was established on the University campus
  6. During 2015/2016 the Faculty of Science was established
  7. During 2008/2009 the Institute of Continuing Education was established
  8. During 2008/2009 the Institute of Postgraduate Studies and Research was established
  9. During 2016/2017 the Institute of Islamic Banking and Finance was established.


Zanzibar University is a full member of the following institutions:

  1. The Inter-University Council for East Africa (IUCEA)
  2. The Association of Commonwealth Universities (ACU)
  3. The Association of African Universities (AAU)
  4. Committee of Vice-Chancellors and Principals – Tanzania (CVCP-T)
  5. Tanzania Association of Private Universities (TAPU)
  6. Tanzania Education Research Network (TERNET)
  7. Tanzania Universities Sports Association (TUSA)
  8. Tanzania Counselling and Guidance Association (TACOGA)
  10. ZHELB
  11. HESLB
  13. NAMA Foundation
  14. ADB

Memoranda of Understanding (MOU)

The Zanzibar University has established memoranda of understanding with the following institutions in the areas of staff and student exchange programmes:

  1. Zanzibar Higher Education Loans Board
  2. International University of Africa (IUA), Khartoum-Sudan
  3. Islamic University in Uganda (IUIU), Mbale-Uganda
  4. El-Neelain University, Khartoum – Sudan
  5. Honora Telecommunications Company Ltd. (HONORA)
  6. College of Health Sciences, Zanzibar (CHSZ)
  7. Kwarara Media Center
  8. IIUM
  10. UDOM
  11. MMH
  12. OUT

Zanzibar University © 2023. All Rights Reserved. Designed by ICT Department
Privacy Policy , Terms & Conditions

Style Switcher

Select Layout